QUESTION: If a goalkeeper looses his/her helmet during play and play is stopped, does the goalkeeper need to leave the ice?ANSWER: No, Rule 304(e) does not require a goalkeeper to be replaced after losing his/her helmet/face-mask.
QUESTION: What is the ruling when a parent steps on the bench and challenges the official about a game misconduct?ANSWER: An official cannot penalize a team for spectator behavior. However, he may order (through the team) that the parent be removed from the rink, and the official should absolutely file an Incident Report with their Local Supervisor to pass to the Local Hockey Association to deal with.
QUESTION: Can a player use his stick or skate to clear a dropped stick from the front of his own net?ANSWER: A player may sweep and remove any equipment from the front of their goal area as long as the owner of the equipment is not trying to retrieve it.
QUESTION: Can a minor penalty be changed to a major penalty after play has resumed? Specifically 45 seconds into the penalty.ANSWER: Under USAH Rule 502(a) the Referee may not change any decision once play has resumed.
QUESTION: If a player is given a game misconduct and has to serve a suspension for the next game on his teams schedule. Does the suspended player have to be at the next game or just recording his suspension on the score sheet enough to cover his suspension?ANSWER: USA Hockey does not mandate a suspended player be at the game they are suspended for. If they choose to attend the game, they may not have any contact with their team during the game.
2018-19 ATO Season: Week 21
By USA Hockey, 01/25/19, 6:15AM MSTShare QUESTION: As our local supervisor i try to keep myself and my officials all on the same page. During a recent game one of the officials called a penalty on a player for diving. When i questioned him about the call he stated that it falls under unsportsmanlike conduct. This same call was made against another of my refs while he was coaching and the State supervisor was on site and agreed with the call under the same rule. I haven't been able to locate any language in the rule or case book referencing diving. I have always steered my officials to not be "creative" when calling a game to maintain credibility. Am I missing something?ANSWER: There is no playing rule in the USA Hockey Playing Rules that allows officials to assess a “Diving” penalty. The official can certainly address the situation with the player or coach of the team (and maybe ignore calling any infraction after the player embellishes the result again), but strictly speaking there is no diving rule.
QUESTION: A question regarding 10U hockey, are slap shots allowed at this age?ANSWER: Under Rule 621(d) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules, players at the 10 & Under level may not execute “slap-shots” during a game. If the stick is raised above the waist, play is immediately stopped and the face-off shall be located in the offending team’s end-zone.
QUESTION: How many minor penalties can one player receive in a game before they are removed from a game?ANSWER: At all levels, a player must be assessed an additional Game Misconduct if they receive five penalties during one game.
QUESTION: After regulation time runs out and the game goes into overtime, can you change your goalie to the backup goalie?ANSWER: A team may switch goalkeepers before overtime or before any shoot-out attempt.
QUESTION: During play the referee notices that the helmet being worn by a youth player has been altered (painted) and does not have an HECC sticker on it. The player is not allowed to continue to play in the game until they have on a helmet that meets has the HECC certification. The referee assessed a 2 minute penalty for playing with illegal equipment. I did not find a specific reference in the rules book that would specify the additional penalty. Did I miss it?ANSWER: Proper protocol for officials to deal with an illegal helmet is to first send the offending player off the ice with a “Team Warning”, and then any subsequent infraction would result in a Misconduct penalty.
2018-19 ATO Season: Week 20
By USA Hockey, 01/18/19, 6:15AM MSTShare QUESTION: If the ref calls a penalty shot during a breakaway for a "fouled from behind" foul but the attacking player gets up and the goalie throws his stick toward the puck as the attacking player chases the puck into the corner, can you award 2 penalty shots or is it just one.ANSWER: While two rule infractions occurred in your situation the officials may only award one penalty shot since only one scoring opportunity was lost. The officials should award a penalty shot to the player who was fouled, and then assess a minor penalty to the goalkeeper for throwing the stick.
QUESTION: Player takes a shot from just inside the blue line. Goalie makes a pad save. The rebound, untouched, goes the length of the ice. Icing?ANSWER: Situation #14 under Rule 611 in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states, “The puck is shot by an attacking player and rebounds off a defending player in his defending half of the ice. The puck travels down the ice and crosses the goal line of the attacking player who shot the puck. Should icing be called?No. Rule Reference 624(a).Any time the puck is shot by an attacking player and rebounds from the body or stick of an opponent in his own half of the ice, so as to cross the goal line of the player shooting it, icing shall not be called.”
QUESTION: A coach indicated that his helmets did not have the fabric strap that goes under the chin. They just had straps that attached from the cage to the side of the helmet and seat the cup to the chin. Just curious if I should give a warning for lack of chin strap or not.ANSWER: All hockey helmets are designed with a chin-strap that runs from ear to ear and is designed to keep the helmet on the player’s head. If a player didn’t wear a face-mask there would be no other way to keep the helmet on the player’s head. The face-mask straps (straps which run from the chin cup at the base of the face-mask to snaps usually located behind the ear) do not qualify as chin straps. They are designed to keep the face-mask in place, but do not hook under the chin to keep the helmet on the player. Any player who is missing a proper chin-strap may not participate in the game until it is replaced.
QUESTION: An attacking player in his/her attacking zone bats the puck while in the air upwards, he/she then hits the puck a second time as the puck is falling to the ice with the same hand. He/she then plays the puck with their stick. Is this considered a hand pass to themselves?ANSWER: A player cannot “hand-pass” the puck to themselves. As long as they are the first player to gain possession and control of the puck after playing it with their hand, play shall continue.
QUESTION: After a youth hockey player receives his fifth minor penalty in a game does he serve the penalty in the box or does he get removed from the ice and a teammate serves his penalty and he is suspended for the next game?ANSWER: If a player receives five penalties (any type) during one game he/she shall be immediately assessed a Game Misconduct after the fifth penalty and they shall be ejected from the game and suspended for the next game appearing on that team's schedule at the time of the incident.If the fifth penalty was a minor, major, or match penalty, a substitute teammate must serve any penalty time so the team has someone to leave the box at the end of the original penalty.
2018-19 ATO Season: Week 19
By USA Hockey, 01/11/19, 6:15AM MSTShare QUESTION: At the 10U Girls level, is checking in the back a 5 minute major with game ejection?ANSWER: Checking from Behind and Boarding have "Minor plus Misconduct" or "Major plus Game Misconduct" penalty options at all levels of our game. The fact that the illegal contact occurred in a "Body Contact" game makes no difference to the penalty options.
QUESTION: Can you please explain to me rules regarding the playing of music during a hockey game.ANSWER: There are no rules in the USA Hockey Playing Rules that govern when and how loud music can be played during games. This would be decided by the governing body of the games (Hockey Association, Tournament Committee, etc.).
QUESTION: How should officials handle tied games?ANSWER: Assuming the game is a league or tournament game the resolution of tied games would be decided by the league or association hosting the game or tournament. However, if there are no points or standings at stake and both teams agree to continue playing until a winner is decided (or the ice slot expires), then the officials should continue the game.
QUESTION: If a player drops his stick and an opposing player kicks the stick away, is that a penalty?ANSWER: Rule 625(a)6 in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,"A minor penalty shall be assessed to any player who interferes with or impedes the progress of an opponent who is not in possession of the puck (see Glossary). This includes the following actions which shall be penalized under this rule: 6. Preventing an opponent who has dropped his stick or any other piece of equipment from retrieving it." This means means a player cannot knock an opponent's stick away from them if they are trying to retrieve it. A stick that has been left behind may be swept into the corner or out of the way.
QUESTION: Looking for clarification…. It IS legal to turn your stick over “in a raking motion” to stick check an opponent causing him to lose possession or prevent him from playing the puck. Correct?ANSWER: Stick-lifts and Stick-presses are legal provided they are restricted to the lower part of the opponent’s stick (near the blade) and nowhere near the opponent’s hands.
2018-19 ATO Season: Week 18
By USA Hockey, 01/04/19, 6:15AM MSTShare QUESTION: Can a player wear a GoPro while playing the game of hockey?ANSWER: A player may not participate in a game with a camera attached to his/her helmet. It is not a recognized piece of equipment under the USA Hockey Playing Rules and may cause injury during a collision with another player or official.
QUESTION: Teams are both serving non coincident penalties (playing 4 vs. 4). The penalty times both expire within a few seconds of each other, but no one in the box notices. With both players in the box and teams still playing 4 vs. 4, a goal is scored. What should be done, if anything, by the officials?ANSWER: The officials should not do anything. Neither team broke any playing rules so the goal should be allowed and the game should resume 5 vs. 5.
QUESTION: In a case where coincidental penalties are called but one of the penalized players receives a double minor, how many players are placed in the penalty boxes?ANSWER: Players must always serve the entire time of the penalties they earn. In the case where two opposing players receive coincidental minors, they must enter the penalty bench and they are immediately substituted for (play remains 5 v. 5). If one player receives an additional minor penalty, then that team must immediately play shorthanded. Therefore, that team must place an additional player in the penalty bench so they have someone eligible to return to the ice once play returns to 5 v. 5 (the other player must sit his full four minutes).The short answer is three players enter the penalty bench, the two penalized players and an additional player to return to the ice after two minutes.
QUESTION: If a referee makes a mistake by calling icing, where does the puck get dropped? I always thought when a referee makes a mistake the puck is dropped at center ice.ANSWER: Rule 624(c) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states, “If the Officials shall have erred in calling an “icing the puck” infraction (regardless of whether either team is shorthanded) a last play face-off (end zone face-off spot nearest to the location of the puck when play was stopped) shall occur.”
QUESTION: Playing 5 on 4, Team A is short-handed with possession of the puck. Team B slashes a Team A player and a delayed minor penalty is signaled. Team A goes down the ice and scores. I know in most cases when no one is in Team B's penalty box, you simply report the penalty and player doesn't serve the penalty.ANSWER: If a short-handed team scores against a team with a pending delayed penalty. The goal is allowed, the penalty is recorded and not served, and play resumes 5 v. 4. The goal cancelled the delayed penalty; the fact that the scoring team was shorthanded makes no difference.
2018-19 ATO Season: Week 17
By USA Hockey, 12/28/18, 6:15AM MSTShare QUESTION: I play goal in a local men's league and I got into a discussion with some folks about playing the puck with the hands. While I thought I had made sense of things, now I'm not sure.If I'm reading correctly, according to Rule 618(b), a player or a goalkeeper is allowed to pass the puck forward (i.e. to bat it with their hand or push it along the ice) provided the pass is completed in the defensive zone.However, 618(c) states that if the goalkeeper throws the puck towards the opponent's net and it is picked up by a teammate, play is stopped and a face-off is conducted at the nearest end-zone spot.Is the difference between 618(b) and 618(c) the difference between batting/pushing vs. throwing or is it the difference between directing the puck towards the opponent's net vs. just in a general forward direction (i.e. if you played it forward but to one side.)ANSWER: The difference between the two rules is how the puck is played by the player or goalkeeper. Strictly speaking, players may not close their hand on a puck and direct it. They may bat the puck, or briefly catch the puck and immediately drop it to the ice. If this is done anywhere beyond the defending end zone and a teammate is the first player to play the puck afterwards, a hand pass is called. Similarly, a goalkeeper may bat the puck in any direction. They may not close their hand on the puck and throw it forward (they must drop it off to the side of the goal).
QUESTION: If a goalie has a skate tight to the post and uses a catcher or stick to freeze the puck between the post and skate blade, is it a delay of game? The casebook gives a scenario of a puck on the netting but not on the post. What would be the difference of freezing it in the crease?ANSWER: A goalkeeper may freeze the puck without a penalty as long as he stays within his privileged area and all actions are "in the act of playing goal" (or stopping an immediate scoring opportunity). Therefore, a puck that is located near the goal post may be covered with a stick or glove. The officials will stop play when they judge he/she has control of the puck.
QUESTION: When controlling a line change which arm should the official raise to signal to the visiting team that their time is up? I have always been told that it is the non-whistle hand but I can’t find any manual to support this procedure.ANSWER: The official shall “hold” the visiting team from changing players by holding his/her non-whistle hand in the air.
QUESTION: My son was given a penalty for embellishment. I know my main responsibility is to make sure he is playing the game the right way. I just wanted to know mostly for my own information if "embellishment" penalties exist.ANSWER: As for “embellishment”, there are no diving or embellishment rules in the USA Hockey Rulebook. However, an official can certainly address an “embellished” fall-down with the player’s coach.
QUESTION: A forward's stick knocks goalie's catching glove off as he goes around the net. Looks inadvertent, but goalie is without glove. Should play be stopped?ANSWER: Situation #1 under Rule 304 of the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,"What action should the referee take when the goalkeeper loses one of his gloves during play?Keeping safety as the primary consideration, the referee should stop play whenever the goalkeeper loses a glove and is in a vulnerable position UNLESS there is an imminent scoring opportunity in which play should be allowed to continue until the imminent scoring opportunity has passed. Rule References 304(a & e).If the Referee judges the goalkeeper has deliberately removed any equipment during play he should assess the offending goalkeeper a ‘Delay of Game’ minor penalty."
2018-19 ATO Season: Week 17
By USA Hockey, 12/28/18, 6:15AM MSTShare QUESTION: I play goal in a local men's league and I got into a discussion with some folks about playing the puck with the hands. While I thought I had made sense of things, now I'm not sure.If I'm reading correctly, according to Rule 618(b), a player or a goalkeeper is allowed to pass the puck forward (i.e. to bat it with their hand or push it along the ice) provided the pass is completed in the defensive zone.However, 618(c) states that if the goalkeeper throws the puck towards the opponent's net and it is picked up by a teammate, play is stopped and a face-off is conducted at the nearest end-zone spot.Is the difference between 618(b) and 618(c) the difference between batting/pushing vs. throwing or is it the difference between directing the puck towards the opponent's net vs. just in a general forward direction (i.e. if you played it forward but to one side.)ANSWER: The difference between the two rules is how the puck is played by the player or goalkeeper. Strictly speaking, players may not close their hand on a puck and direct it. They may bat the puck, or briefly catch the puck and immediately drop it to the ice. If this is done anywhere beyond the defending end zone and a teammate is the first player to play the puck afterwards, a hand pass is called. Similarly, a goalkeeper may bat the puck in any direction. They may not close their hand on the puck and throw it forward (they must drop it off to the side of the goal).
QUESTION: If a goalie has a skate tight to the post and uses a catcher or stick to freeze the puck between the post and skate blade, is it a delay of game? The casebook gives a scenario of a puck on the netting but not on the post. What would be the difference of freezing it in the crease?ANSWER: A goalkeeper may freeze the puck without a penalty as long as he stays within his privileged area and all actions are "in the act of playing goal" (or stopping an immediate scoring opportunity). Therefore, a puck that is located near the goal post may be covered with a stick or glove. The officials will stop play when they judge he/she has control of the puck.
QUESTION: When controlling a line change which arm should the official raise to signal to the visiting team that their time is up? I have always been told that it is the non-whistle hand but I can’t find any manual to support this procedure.ANSWER: The official shall “hold” the visiting team from changing players by holding his/her non-whistle hand in the air.
QUESTION: My son was given a penalty for embellishment. I know my main responsibility is to make sure he is playing the game the right way. I just wanted to know mostly for my own information if "embellishment" penalties exist.ANSWER: As for “embellishment”, there are no diving or embellishment rules in the USA Hockey Rulebook. However, an official can certainly address an “embellished” fall-down with the player’s coach.
QUESTION: A forward's stick knocks goalie's catching glove off as he goes around the net. Looks inadvertent, but goalie is without glove. Should play be stopped?ANSWER: Situation #1 under Rule 304 of the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,"What action should the referee take when the goalkeeper loses one of his gloves during play?Keeping safety as the primary consideration, the referee should stop play whenever the goalkeeper loses a glove and is in a vulnerable position UNLESS there is an imminent scoring opportunity in which play should be allowed to continue until the imminent scoring opportunity has passed. Rule References 304(a & e).If the Referee judges the goalkeeper has deliberately removed any equipment during play he should assess the offending goalkeeper a ‘Delay of Game’ minor penalty."